Burnley – What we’ll be looking at

Welcome to our blog, I say our blog because I want us to share it, you can’t write, edit or contribute in any manner, but it is still ours.

As you’ve probably already guessed via the blog title, this will be centred around the rather glorious, bright, happy, slightly falling down, northern town of Burnley. A place where I have lived all my life, much has changed in what has been my brief stint of this earth, yet not much in this town has, it is still the hilly, pigeon infested, wet almost all the time place, it was when I was just a child, frolicking through Townley park in nothing but my red wellington boots and obsession with Barney the dinosaur.

Now you may be an outsider to my town, you may even be from the south! But I very much doubt this, I am fully aware that the interest in my little town will only go as far as Lancaster, and that’s at an optimistic push. However, I will endeavour to bring us all the fantastic sights and sounds of this pokey Lancashire town.

I’ll be galloping through everything my home town has to offer including the hills, the views, the rather magnificent canals, the fantastic walks, parks and places to park you car, the football club, the past glory of our cotton industry, the architecture (or what remains of it) the buses, the trains, the houses, the things to do, the things to eat and of course, the ever-lovely, slightly volatile, people!

In case you didn’t know, which many of you won’t, Burnley is here.

Yep, it’s just far away from all the major places to be considered an average town, but that’s part its charm, this completely ordinary, low income, chav ridden town looks as average and inconspicuous as the next, but that’s part of the charm. Think of all the oceans in the world; look exactly the same, right? but once you dive in and have a look around, they’re all as spell binding as the next.

If you would like any further information on the town or specific aspects then please don’t hesitate to contact me via: p.f.ghayour@gmail.com

Leave a comment